EBGames Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At EBGames
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at EBGames.

World of WarCraft: Cataclysm

World of WarCraft players have been eagerly awaiting this expansion - and for good reason. As if a cataclysmic event that carves a molten scar through the kingdoms of Azeroth weren't trouble enough, in WoW: Cataclysm, an ancient evil awakes from its slumber at the bottom in Deepholm, the domain of earth in the Elemental Plane. Deathwing the Destroyer has big plans for the world, and, judging by his name, we assume that involves death and destruction. And that doesn't bode well for the Horde or the Alliance. Unlikely heroes will rise in this struggle for power, featuring two new races, higher level caps, flying mounts and more. This WoW expansion requires full versions of World of WarCraft the Burning Crusade and Wrath of the Lich King to play.
Average Customer Rating:
2.908
2.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (366 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
31
4 stars
12
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
37
45 out of 9846%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
Review 1 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
Totally Revamped
Posted on:9/14/10
Senu
I've been a Beta tester for a few months now and I have to say Blizzard really out did themselves. I have played as the 2 new races and must say I have found the Goblins much more entertaining then the Worgan. I went into this figuring the Goblins would be the dull ones but they are a blast to play as. I also copied my 80 recently and have been in the new undersea world. It is just amazing how it looks and I do not use the Ultra video settings either. Azeroth has completely changed. As a Hoarde I only know their main towns and so far UC is still the same but Org is totally revamped. You will not recognize it! Way to many changes to list them all here. I posted a pic of me doing a Q in Vashj'ir.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
22 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
Overall
Posted on:10/18/10
WorldofWarcraftAddict
Location: Canton, GA
I must say that I am very excited about the release of Cataclysm. I'm sure that I am not the only one in the WoW universe who is ready to play this game.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Cataclsym Cinematic Intro
11 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted 10/20/10
im gettin into WOW and i was wonderin if i had to have all the game expansion in order to play this one??
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
Awesome
Posted on:11/27/10
WoWExtreme
Location: West Virginia
I have been fortunate enough to play the beta version. It's going to be an awesome expansion. It will be alot easier to level new characters, but for some people that leveled up toons the "hard way" it doesn't seem fair. Expecially for us Mages that didn't get the water elemental till level 52 or 54! I wish I would have waited to level up my shaman, I would have rather made her dwarf, so I hope blizzard is ready for a bunch of race and faction changes when Cat gets released. Seems as though horde favor worgens and alliance favor goblins. In all though I love Cat!! More flight paths, more races, and another profession.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
Can't wait for this to come out!
Posted on:9/27/10
techryan
Location: South Milwaukee, WI
I have been playing this for about a year now. My main toon has a played time of 123 days, 9 hours, 54 minutes. I'm pretty sure you can tell how much I love the game. I would recommend this to anyone who plays Everquest or Guild Wars or Final Fantasy as they are all MMO's. I really think WoW has the upper hand in this industry. I'm really stoked for this to come out and see some of the awesome players come back for Caty. For the horde!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Feral Kitty DPS. For the horde!
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
EPIC
Posted on:8/15/10
Soulstalker
Ok this new expansion looks amazing. Its adding so much to the old worldwarcraft like dude 2 new races new level cap, re-done areas!! I mean its just going to be awsome. Im sure its goin to bring old wow players back to the game and maybe some new noobs to the game. I myself just started playing again a couple months just so i can get my several 80's geared and ready for the new expansion. Also i have been waiting forever for blizzard to put in old world flying so i can get around quicker and there re doing all the citys. Then even as a low little level 30 u will be having fun cause in the barrens there adding new quests that involve pvp like combat for low level players. All new raids, new areas, flying mounts everywhere, new level cap, new races, re-done citys, this new expansion looks like its goin to be epic and get blizzard a whole entire new variety of gamers. ITS GOIN TO BE EPIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kaboom
 
Please wait while more information about Kaboom is loaded.
Additional information about Kaboom could not be loaded.
Will the pre oders get in the beta?
Posted 9/13/10
Well game stop will we get in the beta because u did that for starcraft but will u do the same thing with cataclysm?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
Pumped for this!
Posted on:9/22/10
PoliticalZombie
WoW: Cataclysm looks like it will be a major improvement to the MMO we know and love. No matter how much we want to deny it, Wrath of the Lich King was a sub-par expansion. So far Cataclysm looks like it will turn most, if not all of that around. First, I want to address some complaints directly. 1: "CAtaclysm is making WoW to easy" This cannot be denied in the lower levels, but think about it this way. Easier and more fun starter zones = more players, more helpful starter zones = better players, more good players = better end game experience for everyone. Also, the end game content that I have seen looks like its going to be pretty tough, they're bring back CC and kiting people! 2. "The changes are too drastic!" Okay, I can't say blowing up Azeroth wasn't drastic, but still, it will make for an interesting outlook on things. The decimated world will be much more interesting for new players, and for old players, seeing old zones ripped apart will be an interesting experience to say the least. Needless to say, I'm looking forward to this expansion, and really hope it lives up ro its expectations.
44 of 58 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
MercMerc
 
Please wait while more information about MercMerc is loaded.
Additional information about MercMerc could not be loaded.
Posted 9/29/10
I seriously hope you are joking making things easier. That is the single worst problem in this game right now. Yeah I preordered this and after release if I find that it was made easier than the coddling and hand holding blizzard already does with its subscribers I may just have to put it down. I like a challenge I like to feel accomplishments. At the moment it feels almost like you could put the game on auto pilot walk away and return to say "ooh look what I got" It's just way to easy for players to get gear to level to complete quests to do anything. What made WoW a good game was the challenge in Original release. No one could jsut buy their end game gear you actually had to work for it. You actually had to be a good player to receive the good player items. It's what made peoples characters unique and not just another cookie cutter model. Making thigns soo easy now a days has created a mass of terrible players who waste other peoples time in end game not understanding the very simple things and the most basic mechanics of their class or role in the end game. I seriously hope Cata ups the difficulty level quite a bit. Oh and say No to Goblin/Worgen DK's!! At least until the person has a Goblin/Worgen above level 60.
Customer Avatar
Merru
Earth
 
Please wait while more information about Merru is loaded.
Additional information about Merru could not be loaded.
Great Expansion
Posted 9/25/10
The graphics upgrade is fantastic, and the new water is so pretty. All of the starting zones (new and old alike) feel much more fluid and the phasing throughout Azeroth is very neat. Being able to see what becomes of some of our favorite zones (such as Westfall, etc..) is also a real treat even though poor old Blanchy...Well, nevermind :) Flying in the revamped Azeroth is also very fun and affordable for most. The underwater mount in Vash is also easy to aquire and requires no additional training or funds (it is simply quested.) The user inerface has seem many changes and I have to say it is very user friendly and new player oriented. The new guild mechanics add new purpose to being in a guild. For one, the interface has added functionality as far as being able to see other's level of activity / status / and proffesions so you don't have to ask them to constantly link to see what they can craft if you need something. Guild rep is also a great way of gaining more of a sense of comraderie and the auto dontations ( a small percentage of what you loot from monsters,) helps fund the guild nicely. Guild lvl perks and rewards are also great ( extra xp, rep gain and faster mount speed just to name a few.) Let's not forget "gmail" (instant mail send times between guild mates!) Archeology is fun and provides not only something for perfectionists and lore buffs, but for everyone with the BOA (bind on account) epics that you can aquire from it. In a nut shell, this expansion is the best yet! I am very happy I pre ordered it and would advise that anyone who is on the fence to make this purchase, because you'll really be missing out on some great content.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
More of the same from Blizzard Entertainment
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/11
Sternfan
Location: Atlanta, GA
The sub-par graphical quality is what you might expect from a 7 year-old mmorpg. The dungeons and raids are unsurprisingly derivative of what the WoW community has already seen in The Burning Crusade and Wrath of the Lich King. And while Blizzard has constantly touted the fact that they plan to release new content in shorter intervals than they have in the past, this expansion has actually seen fewer updates than in previous expansions. At launch, Cataclysm offered 3 new PVE raids (for a total of 12 bosses). Since that time, Blizzard has only introduced one new raid, with a 2nd coming in early December (bringing the number of PVE raids to 5, and raid bosses this expansion to a total of 26). By contrast, within a year after the launch of Wrath of the Lich King, there were 7 raids and 53 bosses. Blizzard promised more content in Cata, but have literally delivered HALF of what the previous expansion offered. So if you're looking to buy an mmorpg, I recommend you skip WoW and purchase something less antiquated, such as Rift or the upcoming Star Wars the Old Republic.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
10 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
amazing.
Posted on:12/1/10
Hatred
First off, Tout's girlfriend is an idiot. It's a cataclysm! River banks break and areas become flooded, volcanos erupt, lava pours out the earth that Deathwing shattered. Things being too easy is because everything is set to be ready for 85, at 85 she will be crying because she cant take 6 mobs at once till the next expanstion nears. They redid the WHOLE old world, and they are bringing back that WAR feeling between the factions. they removed the garbage talents and thus trimmed the talent trees down, meaning less talents but better talents with little "fillers". Point is if you cant adapt to a game that changes, then this game is not for you. I will for one will keep enjoying with one less baby clogging the chat =)
34 of 39 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tutt56
Albuquerque, New Mexico
 
Please wait while more information about tutt56 is loaded.
Additional information about tutt56 could not be loaded.
For the ones who dont like
Posted 1/17/11
DON'T PLAY
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
Long awaited, much needed...
Posted on:9/29/10
iisthefree
Location: Southside VA
I have been die-hard loyal to the World of Warcraft empire since Dec 2004 (two accounts, 14 max level characters and over 600 played days), right up until the beginning of this summer, 2010. I lost interest after so long, but I never ran out of things to do. That's the big thing for me...continuous play. I know I'm not the only one that can work through the average rpg in a matter of hours and feel like I've wasted money.
I hope that the release of Cataclysm can breathe enough new life into World of Warcraft to get me back into it.
I recommend this title and the previous three with caution, from the perspective of an addict. It's not just life-sucking...it's soul-sucking, and in such a way that you'll keep begging for more.
 
My Product Recommendations
World of Warcraft Battlechest
4.2 out of 10(45)
 
 
 
World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King Expansion Pack
4.1 out of 10(328)
 
 
 
 
 
35 of 41 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
Questing + Lore = Fun
Posted on:11/4/10
Tinkercats
Location: North Carolina
As a Beta tester since August I've seen the ups and downs of Cataclysm, but I must admit there's been more ups than downs. Just like any game in the beta it's going to be buggy, but here recently everything's been playing like a fine tuned instrument. One of the best things I love about Cata is the new starting areas for most all the races (Sorry; Blood Elves and Draenei, not for you). Stories make sense now (especially for the undead) and the quests now involve so much more story and lore you really get sucked into the world more than ever! Yes, the new talent system takes time getting used to, but if you're already playing WoW then you know this already. Overall, everything is looking great and I can't wait to play it live!
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
No more
Posted on:2/4/10
founder3
After playing WoW since beta all I have left to say is no more. We all love World of Warcraft, there is no mistaking that. But, and I say this after many years of patience, we as a gaming community need something fresh. Yes, the content is amazing, the sound tracks are energetic, and the hours spent questing with friends feel like fleeting minutes. All that said, we have all been eating the same piece of pie for far longer than anyone would care to. What happened to the single player action / multiplayer option RTS Warcraft we grew up with and fell in love with? It seems that Blizzard has taken a success and driven so far in the ground that anyone riding has no hope of getting out of the hole. WoW is enthralling, and I have spent thousands of hours enjoying it, but it's time for something new. Maybe Diablo III will be that piece of freshness we need. Or, perhaps StarCraft II will satieate our appitites. Whatever it is though, we are all waiting, and no doubt blizzard will deliver.
Review 12 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
Gonna be great! But why?
Posted on:10/20/09
Ellessa
Well first off there's alot of people worried/ticked about destroying the old world. Honestly that's gonna be great. Why cause we are all board of leveling and doing the same starting areas, this will deffently make it way more cool. I'm guessing after cataclysm when dealthwing is dead from a raid somehow blizz will restore the land and make it even more Cool. Mabey... We all know everything there is to know about cataclysm so far so I won't talk about that. But there is one thing that worries me. I'm a major raider and there's gonna be a lot of raids with cataclysm but the level cap is 85, that's great but with Wotlk if you where uber geared you didn't lose 100% of your gear till past 80 and that's ten levels, any ways blizz will figure it out. Plus others are warry of them changing stats. Good! makes it easier to choose between gear and makes everything easier! Human hunters WOOT!! Of course blizz announced it atleast a year before, figures. But this will be a great expansion!
Review 13 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
Goblins and such.
Posted on:9/25/09
Anonymous
The Goblin's previously seen in WoW are not the same goblin's that will be playable. Just like with any race of beings, there will be different groups or factions within it. The neutral goblins we see are of the Steamwheedle Cartel. The playable Goblins are of a different faction that, in the upheaval of the cataclysm, were taken advantage of, and shipwrecked on the Lost Isles. There, they came into conflict with an Alliance expedition, and sought assisstance from the Horde. Booty Bay and the other goblin towns will remain neutral (assuming they aren't destroyed). More on topic, this game looks good. I've loved this game for 4 years, and I think the recent direction is great for the game. But this expansion will be another excellent step. If there's one problem WoW has had, its that whenever an expansion comes out, all previous content is completely abandoned. This expansion, instead, is taking the world and altering it forever, something few MMOs have ever done. I can't wait.
Review 14 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
The question of gear is answered and then some.
Posted on:10/12/10
Vitam
Location: ESVA
I can tell you all that this game is going to be great. The start zones have been revamped. So far from what I have noticed, starting on human side, you can expect to get really nice themed quest gear that rivals previous gear from before. Also, if you have worked hard for your item level 264 epic gear, then it should last you for awhile when you level up, but if you only have item level 232 epic gear it should be replaced by the item level 271 green items. They have added a lot of instant casts to the game to keep dps up. I have noticed that this time around WoW will be a much faster paced game. Also on a side note, if you are a guildmaster, don't boot all your guildies because you aren't raiding 25-mans anymore, you will need your fellow guildies to level up your guild through the guild advancement feature.
 
My Product Recommendations
World of Warcraft Dungeon Companion 3 OSG
5 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
Aion: Assault on Balaurea
4.5 out of 10(8)
 
 
 
 
 
 
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
WORST EXPANSION
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/11
K2IVY
It is a perfectly awful expansion.
The graphics are classic generic and bad even for a game that is 7 years old, people complaining about the graphics clearly are correct, and outaded graphics are not a strong selling point.
The Quests, Dungeons, Raids are all far worse then the Lich King content, and unlike Lich King they have not had a some what steady release of content from launch which means that they drop a boring re-hashed raid and make it the only content for 6 months... again far worse then the former expansions.
As for the Community ... the Trade Chat does represent the player base. The majority of players are the horrible and annoying players who simply want to ruin the experience for everyone else.
Over all its a terrible game for all players. you will be seeing a lot of the same old WoW, but for people who haven't played I would say don't even bother to try the level 20 trial and see if its a game for you.
I give it an F for failure.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
quiting wow b/c of this game
Posted on:9/26/09
wow fan gone wrong
first off id like to say that most of this game looks good. i have played for about 3 years and have been highly addicted :O lmao. the new races are cool. but thats about it in my book. there changing how the whole world us long time vets have come to know and love. the world that brought us in and kept our eyes glued to our cpus for more than 12 hours a day lol. for me this is a dealbreaker that has made me lose my interest in wow. this is exactly the same the that sony did to star wars galaxies as soon as wow came out( they changed everything). now that i see wow changing rapidly i am quitting all together. as will all my friends and about 25% of the realm i play on. dk about the other realms though. as ive seen half the people who played wow from the beginning are former swg players that left bc of changes in the way swg had made to the core of the game. now wow is heading down the same course. my suggestion- choose aion or star wars the old republic. aions out now swtor is coming out in 2010
Review 17 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
Impressive
Posted on:9/22/10
Ebgamer
Location: Oklahoma
Alot of people are saying that they are making the game easier, which is not true. What they are doing is making the learning curve easier to learn but most of the end game content is going to be alot more challenging then it is now. To be more clear, we had the 31 talent trees in origional wow, adding a pop up to everytime you ding isnt exactly making things easier. I mean, all health and damage on all creatures above level 65 is getting buffed, most classes will have to press more then 2 buttons in their rotation, and finally, we are going to have to CC in level 85 content, bosses will have mechanics (even in 80+ normals) that will wipe a group who messes up, the raids will be harder, bosses will drop the old style tier tokens (the ones used in BC) so you cant get full tier gear by clearing an entry level bosses, and they are adding more algalon style bosses for a true challenge. Overall, if you have been playing wow since BC or even origional and seek a bigger challenge then the current game has to offer, deffinetely get it. If you are the type of person who dosent like challenges, having to think, or likes free hand outs, I would recomend finding another game. Personally, im so happy and exited, that I will be attending a midnight release for the very first time.
16 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
Not what most people say
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/11
nicholas6397
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Most people are downing this game because they say it has bad graphics,horrible gameplay, too hard, e.t.c. This is by far not the case. I have been playing cata since it came out and i have to say for one, the graphics are great. People are saying the graphics are cartoony or blocky, they are not, if you are seeing it like this up your graphics to good, high, or ultra before you honestly review them cause in high/ultra settings they are very good. Now as for it being too hard..... just don't even say that cause people saying that probably started in wrath of the lich king and that was very dumbed down. Now for people saying its too easy, well... I can kinda see your point, the game has got esier so you don't have to work constantly to do end game and all that, but thats not necessarily a bad thing. You people saying that have got to understand that Blizz is trying to get the more casual/ everyday gamer to play not just the hardcore gamer. As for my rating on the game, I give it a 7 based on i like it but do kind of agree with it getting easier.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
Another great expansion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/10
XspawnX
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok, first things first. Dont worry about what fobia92069 said, if you dont like to play against other players or PVP, then you can join a PVE server which doesnt have world PVP and you wont get any opposing player to attack you.
Now, that being said, this game does take time to get anything done. Its an MMO, check out other MMO's out there, you wont find any MMO that has instant gratification. If you want that, go play a first person shooter, any will do. As far as WoW stands, there's a reason why its still the #1 MMORPG out on the market. They change up the game almost every patch, they notice trends and accommodate what the mass's would like to see in game to a certain degree.
Bottom line, if you've played previous WoW games or other MMO's, you'll most likely love the new expansion, as usual there's plenty to do and they've updated the graphics engine to be a little more up to par with games like Aion and the like.
This is a buy for any MMO fan, some will say its much of the same thing rehashed, sure it might be but its much of what is done right in MMOs!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
Excited!
Posted on:11/20/09
Aquil0_0
I can easily say that I am in the majority of people who say, I am really excited about everything (nearly) that they're doing in this upcoming expansion. Unconfirmed rumers aside, I feel that it's about time Blizzard did something to make us feel that the world was still alive. That was one of the things that draws people into WoW is the fact that it's supposed to be an interactive world that is changing. The complete over-haul of Azeroth is a much anticipated change. I for one have grown a little bored of killing the same mobs, gathering the same things, and talking to the same people who say the same thing everytime. Will people coming to WoW look back and wish they'd had the chance to see the world as it is right now? Most definitely. I wish I could have been playing back when everything started so I could get that new game feel, but after five years the world should have changed. As far as Azeroth goes, the only thing that's changed is the strength of the players.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>