EBGames Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At EBGames
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ridge Racer

The high-octane racing franchise drifts onto the PlayStation®Vita delivering stunning graphics and heart-poundingaction that players can truly feel. Ridge Racer® features high-speed action, high-performance racing machines,and all-new gameplay additions creating an edge-of-your-seat experience only possible on the PlayStation®Vita.Racing fans can also take the action online and tear up the track against players from around the globe using thePlayStation®Vita "near" and Wi-Fi functionality and race agains other players' ghosts anywhere at anytime.
Average Customer Rating:
5
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
3 out of 838%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ridge Racer
Review 1 for Ridge Racer
Where's the Game??
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/12
Dilcue
Location: Milwaukee, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
As a long-time RidgeRacer and portable fan, I was highly disappointed by RidgeRacer:Vita. The game is gorgeous on the new handheld and quite immersive, but there isn't a campaign. Let's pause for a sec to repeat that... you will not find a single-player campaign in this game. The game comes with three classic courses and five cars, but completely relies on a lacking multiplayer experience. To add insult to this overpriced injury, unless you have friends with the Vita and RR:V for adhoc gaming, you will find that there are close to no multiplayer hosts to play with online. That leaves about 15 minutes worth of honest material in this game. I would absolutely NOT recommend RidgeRacer: Vita to anyone, even the most extreme and dedicated RR franchise fan, as even they will immediately feel scammed out of a great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ridge Racer
GREAT Game...IF...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/12
Telan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great game if you take it for what it is. Right now, it's basically a long demo with lots of online features. I reserved mine with my Vita, so I got the pre-order package with the five extra cars and two tracks, which makes it feel more like a true full RR. It plays well, with the same tight controls I've come to expect from the RR series (I own all except Rage Racer for PS1 and RR iOS, even having a JAP and USA copy of RR PSP).I would not recommend this for someone just looking for a racing game for Vita; I'd recommend this highly to only Ridge Racer uberfans such as myself. Graphics are good (although I see it as dumb that they would need to release a day 1 patch to stabilize the framerate), but they need to release a patch to disable AA and use the full resolution of the Vita panel. That was one thing I enjoyed about RR7, it ran at 1920x1080 like PS3 games should. I think the sound is really good. Good songs, good engine sound (although not as good as the Himmel EO in RR PSP through headphones), good stereo separation, and good ambient sounds. If you want a copy but aren't a superfan, I'd wait until the prices goes down just a little. All in all, I love this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ridge Racer
GAME SUCKS!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/12
BLACKOPS1234567890
I bought this racing game thinking it would be fun and all, but it wasn't. I did one race and it's so hard to win on EASY to. The cars you face are so fast and you have horrible control of your car that you go sliding everywhere. This game also has these race car style cars instead of corvetes and mustangs and everything. I hated this game and you will to.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ridge Racer
Horrible in My opinion
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/12
IdontWantToChooseAName
Location: Earth
The game has okay graphics but that's about it. The game is pointless. Even on easy, the racers are hard to beat, and there is no story line or career mode. All you can do is circuit race. It would be better if there were a campaign/career mode, and you could have the choice of drifting or not. I would not recommend this game to any one and I will be returning my copy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 5 for Ridge Racer
No comparison to wipeout
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/12
jthake
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am not a massive gamer and like the Vita for when I travel for business. I bought WipeOutwhen I first got this and as a kid had Ridge Racer on PS1/2. The racing doesn't really feel like you are driving the car, not like Gran Turismo etc. and the computer AI isn't at all smart. Just found this game too boring and not engaging enough for me. I live in WipeOut.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ridge Racer
One of the best games for the vita !!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/12
Tommat3856
Location: China tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was at gamestop before they opened . I got the only one they had without preorder . Im so happy to get this game its worth every penny . you wont be sorry if you buy this game !
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ridge Racer
Second!!! and does this all the vitas got.
Posted on:3/11/12
smithy1
Location: illinois
i mean come on i was expecting more in the near future than this. i mean the launch was terrible enough but we'll have to wait and see if it gets better. PS: no i am not self centered on the 3ds.
1 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ridge Racer
GREAT GAME!!!!!!1
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/12
Botguy24
Location: Denver
This game is perfect for: party gamers
why all the bad reviews? i LOVE this game not much online but.... if there's 1 game lots of people join so its ok. great graphics and game play highly recommend this game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ridge Racer
No single player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/31/12
ellio
Location: klamath falls, oregon
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
There's no single player other then practice and no real offline features which makes this game nothing more then a demo to a game that doesn't exist.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 10 for Ridge Racer
FIRST!!!!! and this looks pretty legit.
Posted on:1/16/12
BOOM17
Location: FRESNO,CALI
THIS SEEMS LIKE A GRAND TORISMO GAME THOSE SUCK BUT I THINK JUST KUZZ ITS A VITA IT WILL B SO MUCH BETTER
2 of 84 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lonesolider
 
Please wait while more information about lonesolider is loaded.
Additional information about lonesolider could not be loaded.
RIDGE RACR CONTENT
Posted 1/27/12
I heard that the japnesse verson only had 3 cars and 5 tracks , I just hope that they add content before putting it out in the store in the United States or we be spending all your money on Add Ons.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)